Berkeley Cosmology Group Directory

e-mail addresses should be appended by berkeley.edu or .gov, for lbl addresses, if address is incomplete. See also the Astronomy Department directory, which has significant overlap.

Long term (faculty & research staff)     Shorter term: Postdocs, Visitors     Students    Support staff

Long term (faculty & research staff)

  • CMB Experiment and Data Analysis

    Borrill, Julian
    Computational Cosmology Center LBL, (510) 486-7308, jdborrill@lbl.gov
    Delabrouille, Jacques
    Pierre Binetruy Center
    Holzapfel, Bill
    433 LeConte, 642-5036, UCB Physics faculty, swlh@cosmology.berkeley.edu, link
    Keskitalo, Reijo
    Computational Cosmology Center, (510) 486-5790, 50B-4206E, RTKeskitalo@lbl
    Kisner, Ted
    Computational Cosmology Center, (510) 495-2697,tskisner@lbl.gov
    Kusaka, Akito
    LBL 50-6004, akusaka@lbl, 486-6175
    Lee, Adrian
    Physics Faculty/CMB, 643-4606, atl@cosmology.berkeley.edu
    Richards, Paul
    345 Birge Hall, 642-3027, CMB faculty, Berkeley, richards@physics.berkeley.edu
    Smoot, George
    (retired) UCB physics and LBNL faculty, gfsmoot@lbl.gov
    Spieler, Helmuth, LBNL Physics Div. Sr. Staff
    Bldg 50B Rm. 6233, 486-6643, spieler@LBL.gov
    Stompor, Radek
    Pierre Binetruy Center
    Suzuki, Aritoki
    LBL Staff Scientist, LBL 50-5032, asuzuki@lbl, 486-5454

  • Dark Matter, Neutrino Astrophysics

    Haxton, Wick
    Physics and LBL faculty, 664-4321, 431 LeConte, haxton@berkeley
    McKinsey, Daniel
    441 Old Leconte, Physics faculty, daniel.mckinsey@berkeley
    Orebi-Gann, Gabriel
    Physics and LBL faculty, 642-1571, 317A LeConte, gabrielog@berkeley
    Price, Buford
    303 Birge Hall, 642-4982, Physics faculty, UCB, bprice@uclink4.berkeley.edu
    Pyle, Matt
    349 Old LeConte, mpyle1@berkeley
    Sadoulet, Bernard
    439 LeConte, 642-5719, Physics faculty, sadoulet@physics.berkeley.edu
    Sorensen, Peter
    LBL 50-5037, pfsorensen@lbl, 486-7030
  • Extra-Galactic Observation

    Kriek, Mariska
    Astronomy, NCH 317, mkriek@berkeley
  • Large Scale Structure

    Bailey, Stephen
    BOSS,DESI, LBL, 50-5052, 510-495-2604, StephenBailey@lbl.gov
    Davis, Marc
    NCH 605s, 642-5156, Astronomy and Physics faculty
    Gontcho A Gontcho, Satya
    DESI project scientist, satyagontcho@lbl
    Guy, Julien
    LBL, jguy@lbl, LBL 50-5040B
    Levi, Michael
    LBNL, MELevi@lbl.gov
    Schlegel, David
    djschlegel@lbl.gov, LBNL, 495-2595
  • Particle Theory

    Bousso, Rafael
    UCB Physics faculty, 451 Birge,RBousso@lbl
    Gaillard, Mary K.
    UCB Physics faculty, MKGaillard@lbl.gov
    Ganor, Ori
    UCB Physics faculty, origa@socrates
    Hall, Lawrence
    411 Birge, 642-6536, UCB Physics faculty, ljhall@lbl.gov
    Horava, Petr
    UCB Physics faculty, horava@berkeley.edu
    Murayama, Hitoshi
    UCB Physics faculty,hitoshi@berkeley.edu

  • Physical Cosmology Theory

    Almgren, Ann
    Computational Cosmology, LBL, asalmgren@lbl.gov
    Alvarez, Marcelo
    UCB Research, NCH 313/LBL 50-4206, marcelo.alvarez@berkeley
    Arons, Jonathan
    NCH 265, UCB Astronomy and Physics emeritus faculty, arons@astro
    Cahn, Robert
    50A-5117 LBL, 510-486-4481, rncahn@lbl
    Cieplak, Agnieszka
    207B Campbell, acieplak@berkeley
    Cohn, Joanne
    UCB Research, NCH 305/LBL 50-5015, (510) 486-5075, jcohn@berkeley
    Dai, Liang
    UCB Physics, liangdai@berkeley
    Ferraro, Simone
    sferraro@lbl, LBL 5040C, and NCH 341
    Linder, Eric
    UCB Research, evlinder@lbl
    Lukic, Zarija
    LBL computational cosmology group, 50B-4206, 486-6942, zarija@lbl
    Ma, Chung-Pei
    NCH 319, UCB Astronomy faculty, (510)642-4850,cpma@astro
    McDonald, Pat
    LBL 50-6050A, pvmcdonald@lbl
    Seljak, Uros
    UCB Physics and Astronomy faculty and LBL staff NCH 367/50-5032A, useljak@berkeley
    White, Martin
    NCH 303/LBL 50-5015, UCB Physics and Astronomy and LBL faculty, mwhite@berkeley

  • Reionization (Observation)

    Parsons, Aaron
    UCB Astronomy faculty, Hearst Field Annex B-54,aparsons@astro.berkeley

  • Supernovae and/or WFIRST

    Aldering, Greg
    LBNL, supernova cosmology, GAldering@lbl.gov
    Filippenko, Alex
    NCH 255,510-642-1813, astronomy faculty, alex@astro link
    Groom, Don
    LBL, Supernovae scientist, degroom@lbl.gov
    Kasen, Dan
    UCB Physics and Astronomy and LBL faculty, 427 LeConte, kasen@berkeley
    Kim, Alex
    LBNL, 50-6045A, 486-4621, Supernovae, akim@physics.berkeley.edu
    Nugent, Peter
    LBNL, supernova and computational cosmology, PENugent@lbl.gov
    Pennypacker, Carl
    LBNL, 486-7429, Supernovae scientist, educator, pennypacker@lbl.gov
    Perlmutter, Saul
    LBNL, 50-5038, Supernova Cosmology scientist, saul@lbl.gov
    Roe, Natalie
    LBNL, Head of Physics Division, naroe@lbl.gov
    Spadafora, Tony
    (510)495-2316, Supernova Cosmology/LBNL, ALspadafora@lbl.gov
    Strovink, Mark
    Physics and LBNL, MWStrovink@lbl.gov
    Thomas, Rollin
    LBNL Computational Cosmology Center (50B-4206G), SNfactory (Alvarez Fellow), RCThomas@lbl

  • Other Affiliates

    Clarke, John
    UCB Physics faculty, jclarke@physics.berkeley.edu
    Grossan, Bruce
    LBNL 50-5002, CMB Foregrounds, Galaxy Clustering and AGN,Bruce_Grossan@lbl
    Siegrist, James
    UCB physics faculty, LBL, siegrist@lbl

Shorter term: Postdocs, Visitors

Aragon, Cecilia
LBNL, aragon@hpcrd.lbl
Baleato Lizancos, Anton
LBL, CMB lensing, a.baleatolizancos@berkeley
Ben-Dayan, Ido
Visiting professor 2021-2022, 341 Campbell Hall, idobd@berkeley
Boehm, Vanessa
BCCP Postdoc, 341 Campbell Hall, vboehm@berkeley
Caldwell, David O.
SLAC/UCSB, P.O. Box 4349 Mail Stop 67, (650) 926-2547, UCSB Faculty/CDMS, caldwell@slac.stanford.edu
Chabanier, Solene
working with Lukic, schabanier@lbl
Crowley, Kevin
CMB, ktc35@berkeley
deRose, Joe
jderose@stanford Chamberlain fellow
Descamps, Freija
LBL, fbdescamps@lbl.gov, SNO+ group
Dillon, Josh
BCCP Fellow, jsdillon@berkeley, Campbell 341
El Bouhargani, Hamza
arriving Fall 2021 to LBL
Ewall-Wice, Aaron
Campbell Hall, aaronew@berkeley
Fang, Xiao
xfang@berkeley, arriving fall 2021
Gupta, Ravi
LBL SN group, ravigupta@lbl
de Haan, Tijmen
LBL, CMB experiment, LeConte 278, LBL 50-5032, tijmen@berkeley, tijmen@lbl
Hayden, Brian
LBL, bhayden@lbl
Huang, Xioasheng
LBNL, xshuangca@yahoo.com or xhuang@lbl.gov
Kremin, Anthony
LBNL, akremin@lbl,
Landriau, Martin
LBL, mlandriau@lbl, 50-5045 , 510-495-2316
La Plante, Paul
plaplant@berkeley , Reionization and machine learning, campus
Lee, Wonyong
LBNL, SN, wylee@lbl.gov
Lu, Al
research physicist, Sadoulet group, 642-8858, allu@cosmology.berkeley.edu, 791 Evans (mailing 366 Le Conte mc 7304)
Millea, Marius
mariusmillea@berkeley , 341 Campbell
Palmese, Antonella
Einstein fellow, arriving fall 2021
Park, Hyunbae
C3, arriving fall 2021
Patra, Nipanjana
Observational cosmology, EOR, nipanjana@berkeley
Puglisi, Giuseppe
CMB data analysis with Lee and Borrill, gpuglisi@berkeley
Raichoor, Anand
DESI, araichoor@lbl, LBL 50-
Ross, Hannah
simulations, C3 (50B-4206) hross@lbl
Schaan, Emmanuel
Chamberlain Fellow, eschaan@lbl, 50-5040D
Schlafly, Eddie
Livermore/LBL, LBL 50-5045, efschlafly@lbl
Serfass, Bruno
post doc, Sadoulet group, 643-4674, serfass@cosmology, 349 LeConte
Stein, George
simluations, gstein@berkeley
Weaverdyck, Noah
Chamberlain fellow arriving Oct 2021, nweaverdyck@lbl after Oct 1, LBL 50-
Whitehorn, Nathan
postdoc with W. Holzapfel, nwhitehorn@berkeley
Yeche, Christophe
visiting LBL, christophe.yeche@cea.fr
Yellin, Steve
SLAC/UCSB CDMS project, #R256 SLAC, (650)926-3594, Yellin@slac.stanford.edu
Zhang, Kai
kzhang3@lbl.gov, DESI project scientist
Zhou, Rongpu
LBL DESI postdoc, rongpuzhou@lbl

Students

Aldape, Erik
student with Seljak
Avva, Jessica
student with Holzapfel, CMB, javva@berkeley
Bayer, Adrian
Student with Uros, abayer@berkeley
Byrne, Lindsey
visiting graduate student working with Lukic, lbyrne@lbl
Chen, Stephen
student of Martin White, shifan_chen@berkeley
Dai, Biwei
student with Seljak, biwei@berkeley
Dornfest, Max
C3 (50B-4206) at LBL, madornfest@lbl
Groh, John
Huang, Nicholas
CMB observation, student with Holzapfel,ndhuang@berkeley
Monsalve, Francisco
LBNL, grad student, fmonsalve@berkeley.edu
Pease, Evan
McKinsey student,ekpease@lbl
Robnik, Jakob
Cosmology, planet detection
Sailer, Noah
student of Martin White, nsailer@berkeley
Speller, Danielle
Sadoulet group, 333 LeConte, 643-3279, speller@berkeley
Sullivan, Jamie
Sundqvist, Kyle
Sadoulet group, 333 LeConte, 643-3279, kylesun@socrates.berkeley
Truong, Mai
student of Alex Kim,
Yu, Byeonghee
student with U. Seljak, bhyu@berkeley, 341 LeConte

Technical, Engineering and Logistical Support

Alvaro-Dean, Judith
87 LeConte Hall, CDMS technical support (510)643-9870, jalvaro@cosmology.berkeley.edu
Byrd, Karen
LBL, 510-486,6872, (510) 486-1749, kmbyrd@lbl.gov
Computer Support (Steve Sizemore)
sysadmin@cosmology.berkeley.edu
Cortez, Troy
Visitor and other support, tcortez@lbl.gov, 510-486-5169 (fax 510-486-6808)
Emes, John
LBNL, 2/200, 486-7169 technical support
Nocera, Rosemary
LBNL, BCG logo/web design, ranocera@lbl.gov
Seitz, Dennis
83 Le Conte Hall, 643-5554, CDMS engineer, dseitz@physics.berkeley.edu

Back to BCG home page.

   
            
 
Privacy & Security Notice, etc. Contact Updated October 2006